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REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION OF THE
WISCONSIN CRIME VICTIMS RIGHTS BOARD

Wisconsin Statutes section 950.09(3) authorizes the Crime Victims Rights Board (“Board”) to
“issue reports and recommendations concerning the securing and provision of crime victims’
rights and services.” The following report makes recommendations to law enforcement
professionals regarding the best practices for complying with the obligations set forth in
Wisconsin Statutes Chapter 950 to provide specific written information within 24 hours of
contact with a victim.

Factual Backeround

A 22-month old child died as a result of neglect committed by the boyfriend of the child’s
mother. The offender left the child and the child’s 5 month old sibling unattended for over an
hour. During that time, the child climbed onto a stove and was suffocated when the stove fell on
top of him. The offender ultimately pleaded guilty and was sentenced to four years of
confinement and six years extended supervision

At the time of the child’s death, the police department with jurisdiction over the case provided
the mother of the child with written information about her rights as a victim of crime. She
conveyed to the law enforcement officers that she would notify the child’s biological father, who
was in jail at the time, of the child’s death. Three days later, the offender was charged with one
count of child neglect causing death and one count of child neglect. The district attorney’s office
subsequently mailed information about crime victims’ rights to the child’s mother and biological
father. However, the information did not reach the child’s father initially because it was sent to
his home and not to him at jail. Eventually, the district attorney’s office made contact with him
in jail.

Law enforcement did have contact with the father of the child at the jail, approximately two
weeks later, to provide him with a copy of the state’s offer for the offender to plead guilty or no
contest. At no time during or after that contact was the father given information about his rights
as a victim of crime by the police department.

Statutes Involved

Wisconsin Stat. § 950.02(4)(a)1. defines “victim” as “[a] person against whom a
crime has been committed.”
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Wisconsin Stat. § 950.02(4)(a)2. defines “victim” as “a parent, guardian or legal
custodian of the child” if the person specified in Wis. Stat. § 950.02(4)(a)1. is a child; i.e., is a
person who is less than 18 years of age. Wis. Stat. § 950.02(1).

Wisconsin Stat. § 950.04(1v)(t) provides that victims of crime have the right “[t]o
receive information from law enforcement agencies, as provided under s. 950.08 (2g).”

Wisconsin Stat. § 950.08(2g) provides: No later than 24 hours after a law enforcement agency
has initial contact with a victim of a crime that the law enforcement agency is responsible for
investigating, the law enforcement agency shall make a reasonable attempt to

provide to the victim written information on all of the following:

(a) A list of the rights of victims under s. 950.04 (1v).

(b) The availability of compensation under ch. 949 and the address and
telephone number at which to contact the department for information concerning
compensation under ch. 949.

(c) The address and telephone number of the intake worker, corporation

counsel or district attorney whom the victim may contact to obtain information
concerning the rights of victims and to request notice of court proceedings under
ss. 938.27 (4m) and (6), 938.273 (2), 938.299 (1) (am) and 938.335 (3m) (b) or
ss. 971.095 (3) and 972.14 (3) (b), whichever is applicable, and to request the
opportunity to confer under ss. 938.245 (1m), 938.265 or 938.32 (1) (am) or

s. 971.095 (2), whichever is applicable.

(d) The address and telephone number of the custodial agency that the

victim may contact to obtain information concerning the taking into custody or
arrest of a suspect in connection with the crime of which he or she is a victim.
(e) The address and telephone number of the custodial agency that the

victim may contact for information concerning release under s. 938.20 or 938.21
or ch. 969, whichever is appropriate, of a person arrested or taken into custody for
the crime of which he or she is a victim.

(f) Suggested procedures for the victim to follow if he or she is subject to

threats or intimidation arising out of his or her cooperation with law enforcement
and prosecution efforts relating to a crime of which he or she is a victim.

(g) The address and telephone number at which the victim may contact

the department or any local agency that provides victim assistance in order to
obtain further information about services available for victims, including medical
services.

Report and Recommendation

1. Anytime that a law enforcement agent has contact with any victim [as defined by Wis.
Stat. 950.02(4)] of a crime over which his or her agency has jurisdiction, that victim is
entitled to receive the written information outlined by Wis. Stat. 950.08(2g). The agent
must attempt to provide the required information no later than 24 hours after having
contact with the particular victim contacted. The law does not require law enforcement
agents to proactively seek out every victim of a crime for the purpose of providing the
written information required by statute.

2. Notification and rights information given to victims by the district attorney’s office does
not affect the obligation law enforcement has to provide the written information outlined
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by Wis. Stat. 950.08(2g). The information law enforcement must provide is distinct from
the information district attorneys must provide. Law enforcement must provide the
address and telephone number of the agency which has (or had) custody of the suspect, so
the victim can get information about the suspect’s release on bail. Law enforcement must
also provide information about procedures to follow if the victim is subject to threats or
intimidation. District attorneys are not required to provide this information. Therefore,
one notice cannot substitute for another.

3. Contact with a victim might occur in different forms, throughout the life of a case. For
example, a victim’s initial telephone call reporting a crime constitutes contact. Contact
with a victim could also occur weeks, months or even years later when an investigator
interviews someone who is by statute a victim of the crime. In both cases, the agency
must make an attempt to provide the written information no later than 24 hours after
having contact with the victim.

4. In homicide cases and sensitive crimes, the best practice is to make a reasonable attempt
to ascertain the identity of victims, including non-custodial parents of child victims, to
notify them that a crime has been committed. In the case at hand, the agency relied on
the child’s mother to give information to the child’s incarcerated biological father. Given
that the father was incarcerated for domestic violence against her and that her boyfriend
was responsible for the death of the child, it would have been prudent for law
enforcement to contact the father directly to ensure that he was receiving information and
able to exercise his rights.

5. Itis also good practice for district attorneys’ offices to make an attempt in homicide cases
and sensitive crimes to identify victims such as non-custodial parents, to ensure they are
able to exercise their victims’ rights.

6. Law enforcement’s obligation to provide a victim with written information cannot be
delegated to another victim. Each victim of a crime who is contacted is entitled to receive
the written information from law enforcement, without regard to whether he or she may
have received information previously from another victim connected to the case.

7. Law enforcement agencies should document when a victim is provided written

information per Wis. Stat. 950.04 (1v)(2g) so the agency has a record of its compliance
with this requirement.
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