
 

What Must Accompany the Renewal Application: 
 The completed application form (pages 2- 4) containing: 

Three (3) required original signatures, no photo copies 

Current Wisconsin residential mailing address  
  Current and valid driver license or identification card 

  number (not expired, cancelled, denied, surrendered or voided) 

Payment of $22 fee payable to Wisconsin Department of Justice 

All incomplete applications will be returned along with the payment.  Any 
accepted application where the applicant is found to be ineligible for a con-

cealed weapon license will be denied and the payment will not be returned.

Active military personnel stationed in Wisconsin should include a copy of their 
military orders. 

Application Processing:  Completed application packets will be processed in the 

order they were received.  Upon completion of the background investigation, if 
it is determined you meet the criteria established by law, your license will be 

mailed to you.  Due to confidentiality requirements, the status of your applica-

tion may not be checked by telephone.   

All renewal applications are to be entered online or mailed with payment to:  

Wisconsin Department of Justice  

ATTN: Firearms Unit    P.O. Box 7130    Madison, WI 53707-7130 
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CONCEALED WEAPON RENEWAL APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

License Requirements: 

 Applicant is at least 21 years of age.

 Applicant is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under federal or

state law.

 Applicant is not prohibited by a court order from possessing a firearm.

 Applicant is a Wisconsin resident as indicated by a current and valid

Wisconsin driver license or identification card, or is Active Military 

stationed in Wisconsin.

Fees and Payment:  An approved concealed weapon license is valid 

for a five-year period. The fee is $22 and is non-refundable and pay-

ment should be made out to Wisconsin Department of Justice.  This 

amount includes the application fee of $12 and the background check 

fee of $10. If utilizing the Department’s online application system 

(https://concealedcarry.doj.wi.gov) payment may be made via Epay 

with a check, credit or debit card. Payments or checks refused by the 

bank will result in the cancellation of any license issued pursuant to s. 

20.905(2), Wis. Stats. along with a $20 insufficient funds fee.  DO 

NOT SEND CASH.   

Renewal Eligibility - A Wisconsin Concealed Carry License is eligible for renewal up to 120 days prior to its expiration date and 90 days after its 

expiration date. A licensee is ineligible to renew their license outside of that timeframe. 

A person may not carry a concealed weapon under Wis. Stats. 175.60 if their concealed carry license is expired. A licensee may not carry a con-

cealed weapon until the receipt of a new, valid concealed carry license has occurred and doing so is a violation of Wis. Stats. 941.23, a Class A mis-

demeanor.  

Possession and Display of License:   At all times during which a person is carrying a concealed weapon, the licensee shall have with them their 

concealed weapon license AND their photographic identification card (driver license or identification card).  Both the license and identification shall 

be displayed to a law enforcement officer upon request. 

Suspension or Revocation of License:  Court action against a license holder may constitute grounds for suspension or revocation of a license to 

carry a concealed weapon.  If a license is suspended or revoked, the licensee must return said license personally or by certified mail within seven (7) 

days of suspension or revocation to the DOJ at the address found on page one. 

Lost or Destroyed License:  If a license is lost or destroyed, the licensee may request a replacement by submitting a completed replacement request 

form and a $12 fee, along with any remaining portions of the license to the DOJ at the address found on page one.   If the license was lost or de-

stroyed making it impossible to return, your existing license will be cancelled and must be returned if found at a later time.  You may request a re-

placement license utilizing the Department’s online system (https://concealedcarry.doj.wi.gov) or the replacement license request form can be found 

at: http://www.doj.state.wi.us/sites/default/files/dles/ccw/dj-le-285.pdf 

Change of Address:  The Department of Justice must be notified of any change of address on the part of any licensee within thirty (30) days.  You 

may submit a change of address notification utilizing the Department’s online system (https://concealedcarry.doj.wi.gov) or by mail by submitting a 

completed change of address notification form available at: http://www.doj.state.wi.us/sites/default/files/dles/ccw/dj-le-285.pdf 

Weapons Permitted with License:  s. 175.60(1)(j), Wis. Stats.:  “Weapon” means a handgun, an electric weapon, as defined in s. 941.295(1c)(a), or 

a billy club. 

LICENSE ACTIONS 
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Wisconsin Department of Justice 

RENEWAL APPLICATION FOR CONCEALED WEAPON LICENSE 

RENEWAL APPLICANT INFORMATION 
Renewal Applicant’s Legal Name (Last, First, Middle, Suffix) 

Sex Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY) Race Height (ft/in) Eye Color Sex Codes    DOJ Use Only 

F - Female 

M - Male 

Race Codes 

A - Asian or Pacific Islander 

B - Black 

I - American Indian or Alaskan Native 

W- White

Eye Color Codes 

BLK - black  GRN - green    MAR - maroon 

BLU - blue  GRY - gray    MUL - multicolored 

BRO - brown    HAZ - hazel    PNK - pink 

Driver License/Identification Card Number 

Current Wisconsin Residential Address  

City State Zip Code 

Maiden/Former/Alias Name(s) Used 

City 

Application Number (DOJ Use Only) 

CCW License Number  

ALL RENEWAL APPLICANTS:  Please answer “Yes” or “No” to all questions by placing an “X” in the appropriate column. Yes No 

1. Have you ever been convicted in any court of a felony, including a felony in Wisconsin or a crime committed elsewhere that would be a felony in Wisconsin, or any 

other crime for which the judge could have imprisoned you for more than 1 year? If you have a Governor’s Pardon attach a copy with the application.

2. Have you been adjudicated delinquent for an act committed on or after April 21, 1994, that if committed by an adult in Wisconsin, would be a felony and have not

been exempted from the firearm prohibition by order of a court pursuant to s. 941.29(8)?

3. Have you ever been found not guilty of a felony in Wisconsin by reason of mental disease or defect, or not guilty of or not responsible for a crime elsewhere that would 

be a felony in this state by reason of insanity, or mental disease, defect, or illness?

4. Are you currently under indictment or have a felony charge pending against you in any court?

6. Are you an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana or any depressant, stimulant, narcotic drug, or any other controlled substance?

7. Are you currently free on bond or bail for a pending felony or misdemeanor offense, or as a witness, where the court has ordered you not to possess a

dangerous weapon? 

8. Are you a fugitive from justice? 

9. Are you subject to a court order (domestic abuse injunction, domestic abuse tribal injunction, child abuse injunction, harassment injunction) that prohibits you from

possessing a firearm? 

10. Have you ever been adjudicated mentally defective (which includes a determination by a court, board, commission, or other lawful authority that you are a danger 

to yourself or to others or are incompetent to manage your own affairs) or have you ever been committed to a mental institution?

  Further definitions of the disqualifiers can be found at:  https://www.atf.gov/file/61446/download 

11. Have you ever been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces?

12. Have you ever renounced your United States citizenship?

13. Are you an alien illegally in the United States?

14. Are you a citizen of the United States?  If no, include your Alien Registration or INS # : Country of birth: 

15. Are you a resident of the State of Wisconsin and possess a current and valid Wisconsin driver license or identification card or are you active military stationed in 

Wisconsin and possess a valid driver license issued by another state or U.S. Territory?

I affirm, in accordance with s. 175.60(5)(a) of the Wisconsin Statutes, that:  (1) I have read and understand the license requirements; AND (2) I state that the information in this 

application and any document submitted with the application are true and complete to the best of my knowledge.  I understand that I am ineligible to apply for a concealed 

carry license if any of the restrictions in s. 175.60(3) apply to me.  I understand I may be prosecuted if I intentionally give false information on the application or submit any 

falsified document. The penalty for making a false statement is a fine of up to $10,000, imprisonment of up to 9 months, or both [s. 946.32(2), Wis. Stats.] and for falsifying a 

document  a fine of up to $10,000, imprisonment up to 9 months, or both [s. 943.38, Wis. Stats.]    

X Renewal Applicant  Signature (first of three required) 

5. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence?

R 

Current Wisconsin Mailing Address (If Different)  

State Zip Code 

https://www.atf.gov/file/61446/download
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PLACES CARRYING OF WEAPON IS PROHIBITED 

175.60 (16) PROHIBITED ACTIVITY.  (a)  Except as provided in par. (b), neither a licensee nor an out−of−state licensee may knowingly carry a con-
cealed weapon, a weapon that is not concealed, or a firearm that is not a weapon in any of the following places: 

1. Any portion of a building that is a police station, sheriff’s office, state patrol station, or the office of a division of criminal investigation special agent

of the department.
2. Any portion of a building that is a prison, jail, house of correction, or secured correctional facility.

3. The facility established under s. 46.055 [secure mental health facility for sexually violent persons].

4. The center established under s. 46.056 [Wisconsin Resource Center].
5. Any secured unit or secured portion of a mental health institute under s. 51.05, including a facility designated as the Maximum Security Facility at

 Mendota Mental Health Institute.

6. Any portion of a building that is a county, state, or federal courthouse.
7. Any portion of a building that is a municipal courtroom if court is in session.

8. A place beyond a security checkpoint in an airport.

(b) The prohibitions under par. (a) do not apply to any of the following:

1. A weapon in a vehicle driven or parked in a parking facility located in a building that is used as, or any portion of which is used as, a location under

 par (a).
2. A weapon in a courthouse or courtroom if a judge who is a licensee is carrying the weapon or if another licensee or out−of−state licensee, whom a

Judge has permitted in writing to carry a weapon, is carrying the weapon.

3. A weapon in a courthouse or courtroom if a district attorney, or assistant district attorney, who is a licensee is carrying the weapon.

175.60(15m) EMPLOYER RESTRICTIONS.  (a)  Except as provided in par. (b), an employer may prohibit a licensee or an out-of-state licensee that it 

employs from carrying a concealed weapon or a particular type of concealed weapon in the course of the licensee’s or out-of-state licensee’s employment 
or during any part of the licensee’s or out-of-state licensee’s course of employment. 

(b) An employer may not prohibit a licensee or an out-of-state licensee, as a condition of employment, from carrying a concealed weapon, a particular 

type of concealed weapon, or ammunition or from storing a weapon, a particular type of weapon, or ammunition in the licensee’s or out-of-state licensee’s
own motor vehicle, regardless of whether the motor vehicle is used in the course of employment or whether the motor vehicle is driven or parked on prop-

erty used by the employer.

943.13 (1m)(c) TRESPASS TO LAND  Whoever does any of the following is subject to a Class B forfeiture: 

1) While carrying a firearm, enters or remains at a residence that the actor does not own or occupy after the owner of the residence, if he or she has not leased it to another 

person, or the occupant of the residence has notified the actor not to enter or remain at the residence while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. In this subdivi-

sion, “residence," with respect to a single−family residence, includes the residence building and the parcel of land upon which the residence building is located, and 

”residence," with respect to a residence that is not a single−family residence, does not include any common area of the building in which the residence is located or any 

common areas of the rest of the parcel of land upon which the residence building is located.

2) While carrying a firearm, enters or remains in a common area in a building, or on the grounds of a building, that is a residence that is not a single−family residence if the 

actor does not own the residence or does not occupy any part of the residence, if the owner of the residence has notified the actor not to enter or remain in the common 

area or on the grounds while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm.  This subdivision does not apply to a part of the grounds of the building if that part is used for 

parking and the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in that part.

3) While carrying a firearm, enters or remains in any part of a nonresidential building, grounds of a nonresidential building, or land that the actor does not own or occupy 

after the owner of the building, grounds, or land, if that part of the building, grounds, or land has not been leased to another person, or the occupant of that part of the 

building, grounds, or land has notified the actor not to enter or remain in that part of the building, grounds, or land while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. 

This subdivision does not apply to a part of a building, grounds, or land occupied by the state or by a local governmental unit, to a privately or publicly owned building on 

the grounds of a university or college, or to the grounds of or land owned or occupied by a university of college, or, if the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in the 

parking facility, to any part of a building, grounds, or land used as a parking facility.

4) While carrying a firearm, enters or remains at a special event if the organizers of the special event have notified the actor not to enter or remain at the special event while

carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. This subdivision does not apply, if the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in the parking facility, to any part of the 

special event grounds or building used as a parking facility.

5) Enters or remains in any part of a building that is owned, occupied, or controlled by the state or any local governmental unit, excluding any building or portion of a build-

ing under s. 175.60 (16) (a), if the state or local governmental unit has notified the actor not to enter or remain in the building while carrying a firearm or with that type of 

firearm.  This subdivision does not apply to a person who leases residential or business premises in the building or, if the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in the 

parking facility, to any part of the building used as a parking facility.

6) Enters or remains in any privately or publicly owned building on the grounds of a university or college, if the university or college has notified the actor not to enter or 

remain in the building while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. This subdivision does not apply to a person who leases residential or business premises in the

building or, if the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in the parking facility, to any part of the building used as a parking facility. 

941.237 (2) CARRYING HANDGUN WHERE ALCOHOL BEVERAGES MAY BE CONSUMED OR SOLD  Whoever intentionally goes armed 
with a handgun on any premises for which a Class “B” or “Class B” license or permit has been issued under ch. 125 is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.  

This prohibition does not apply to a licensee or out-of-state licensee as long as they are not consuming alcohol on the premises. (s. 941.237 (3) (cx), Wis. 

Stats.) 

948.605 (2) FIREARMS ON SCHOOL GROUNDS  No licensee may knowingly possess a firearm in or on the grounds of a school. 

I have read the preceding statements and understand where I am 

prohibited from carrying a concealed weapon. 

Applicant Signature (second of three required). 

X 
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WISCONSIN’S SELF-DEFENSE LAW 
939.48 Self-defense and defense of others. 

(1) A person is privileged to threaten or intentionally use force against another for the purpose of preventing or terminating what the person reasonably 

believes  to be an unlawful interference with his or her person by such other person. The actor may intentionally use only such force or threat thereof as

the actor reasonably believes is necessary to prevent or terminate the interference. The actor may not intentionally use force which is intended or likely to
cause death or great bodily harm unless the actor reasonably believes that such force is necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm to 

himself or herself.

(1m) (a) In this subsection:  

1. "Dwelling" has the meaning given in s. 895.07 (1) (h).

2. "Place of business" means a business that the actor owns or operates.

(1m) (ar)  If an actor intentionally used force that was intended or likely to cause death or great bodily harm, the court may not consider whether the actor had an 

opportunity to flee or retreat before he or she used force and shall presume that the actor reasonably believed that the force was necessary to prevent imminent 
death or great bodily harm to himself or herself if the actor makes such a claim under sub. (1) and either of the following applies:  

1. The person against whom the force was used was in the process of unlawfully and forcibly entering the actor's dwelling, motor vehicle, or place of business, the 

actor was present in the dwelling, motor vehicle, or place of business, and the actor knew or reasonably believed that an unlawful and forcible entry was occurring. 
2. The person against whom the force was used was in the actor's dwelling, motor vehicle, or place of business after unlawfully and forcibly entering it, the actor 

was present in the dwelling, motor vehicle, or place of business, and the actor knew or reasonably believed that the person had unlawfully and forcibly entered the 

dwelling, motor vehicle, or place of  business.

(1m) (b)  The presumption described in par. (ar) does not apply if any of the  following applies: 

1. The actor was engaged in a criminal activity or was using his or her dwelling, motor vehicle, or place of business to further a criminal activity at the time.
2. The person against whom the force was used was a public safety worker, as defined in s. 941.375 (1) (b), who entered or attempted to enter the actor's dwelling,

motor vehicle, or place of business in the performance of his or her official duties. This subdivision applies only if at least one of the following applies: 

a. The public safety worker identified himself or herself to the actor before the force described in par. (ar) was used by the actor.
b. The actor knew or reasonably should have known that the person entering or attempting to enter his or her dwelling, motor vehicle, or place of business

was a public safety worker.

(2) Provocation affects the privilege of self-defense as follows:

(a) A person who engages in unlawful conduct of a type likely to provoke others to attack him or her and thereby does provoke an attack is not
entitled to claim the privilege of self-defense against such attack, except when the attack which ensues is of a type causing the person engaging in the 

 unlawful conduct to reasonably believe that he or she is in imminent danger of death or great bodily harm. In such a case, the person engaging in the 

 unlawful conduct is privileged to act in self-defense, but the person is not privileged to resort to the use of force intended or likely to cause death to
 the person's assailant unless the person reasonably believes he or she has exhausted every other reasonable means to escape from or otherwise avoid

 death or great bodily harm at the hands of his or her assailant.

(b) The privilege lost by provocation may be regained if the actor in good faith withdraws from the fight and gives adequate notice thereof to his or

 her assailant.

(c) A person who provokes an attack, whether by lawful or unlawful conduct, with intent to use such an attack as an excuse to cause death or great

 bodily harm to his or her assailant is not entitled to claim the privilege of self-defense.

(3) The privilege of self-defense extends not only to the intentional infliction of harm upon a real or apparent wrongdoer, but also to the unintended infliction

of harm upon a third person, except that if the unintended infliction of harm amounts to the crime of first-degree or second-degree reckless homicide,

homicide by negligent handling of dangerous weapon, explosives or fire, first-degree or second-degree reckless injury or injury by negligent handling of 
dangerous weapon, explosives or fire, the actor is liable for whichever one of those crimes is committed.

(4) A person is privileged to defend a third person from real or apparent unlawful interference by another under the same conditions and by the same means as those 
under and by which the person is privileged to defend himself or herself from real or apparent unlawful interference, provided that the person

reasonably believes that the facts are such that the third person would be privileged to act in self-defense and that the person's intervention is necessary 

for the protection of the third person.

(5) A person is privileged to use force against another if the person reasonably believes that using such force is necessary to prevent such person from

committing suicide, but this privilege does not extend to the intentional use of force intended or likely to cause death. 

(6) In this section "unlawful" means either tortious or expressly prohibited by criminal law or both.

939.49 Defense of property and protection against retail theft. 

(1) A person is privileged to threaten or intentionally use force against another for the purpose of preventing or terminating what the person reasonably

believes to be an unlawful interference with the person's property. Only such degree of force or threat thereof may intentionally be used as the actor
reasonably believes is necessary to prevent or terminate the interference. It is not reasonable to intentionally use force intended or likely to cause death or

great bodily harm for the sole purpose of defense of one's property.

I have read and understand the above statements on  

self-defense of persons, property, and the use of force. 

Applicant  Signature (third of three required) 

X 


