

Josh Kaul Wisconsin Attorney General P.O. Box 7857 Madison, WI 53707-7857

NEWS FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

November 4, 2024

AG Kaul Joins Bipartisan Coalition Condemning Possible Violence in Response to Election Results

MADISON, Wis. – Attorney General Josh Kaul today joined a bipartisan coalition of 51 attorneys general in condemning any potential violence related to upcoming election results.

The National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG)'s statement emphasizes the importance of civic engagement and respect for the democratic process.

Regardless of the outcome of Tuesday's election, we expect that Americans will respond peacefully and we condemn any acts of violence related to the results. A peaceful transfer of power is the highest testament to the rule of law, a tradition that stands at the heart of our nation's stability. As Attorneys General, we affirm our commitment to protect our communities and uphold the democratic principles we serve.

We call upon every American to vote, participate in civil discourse and, above all, respect the integrity of the democratic process. Let us come together after this election not divided by outcomes but united in our shared commitment to the rule of law and safety of all Americans. Violence has no place in the democratic process; we will exercise our authority to enforce the law against any illegal acts that threaten it.

Joining Attorney General Kaul in today's statement are attorneys general from across the nation committed to preserving democracy and public safety, including Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado,

Page **1** of **2**

Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, U.S. Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming